"Rainbow" is the second single to be shared from Dodie's debut LP, following October's lead single "Cool Girl".

dodie wrote of "Rainbow" on Instagram yesterday (10 December), "this is the beginning of the six songs on this album that are tied together seamlessly by this beautiful 13-piece string section I composed for! Scoring! Wow."

She added, "so grateful to Will Harvey for knowing p much every string player in London ahahah - curating the most beaaautiful selection of musicians and for being my mentor in arranging!!! Thank u to said gorgeous players for bearing with my terrible conducting skills and adding their souls and skill to each part."

dodie penned the songs for her debut album over the space of two years. She said, "I think I was going through a crisis actually. I was very unsure of who I was and I was trying to figure it out in music. So I think it’s quite unstable of an album - but it’s definitely honest."

On how she hopes listeners will receive the album, dodie added, "I’d like people to come away from this album knowing what I can do."


  1. Air So Sweet
  2. Hate Myself
  3. I Kissed Someone (It Wasn’t You)
  4. Cool Girl
  5. Special Girl
  6. Rainbow
  7. ?
  8. Four Tequilas Down
  9. .
  10. Sorry
  11. When
  12. Before The Line
  13. Guiltless (Bonus Track)
  14. Boys Like You (Bonus Track)
"Rainbow" is out now. dodie's debut album Build A Problem will be released 5 March 2021, and is available to pre-order now. dodie will play London's Eventim Apollo on 27 September 2021. Find out more.