"True" is the fifth track to be shared from Big Mess, following earlier outings "Sorry", "Kick Me", "Love In The Time Of Covid" and "Happy".

Elfman's new song is teamed with a video by Sarah Sitkin, who says, "The video is an exploration of fractured identity, muffled through the lens of memory. Danny is a central figure within the video, yet only in his reproduced likeness via prosthetics, masks and 3-D printed body parts. I wanted to make a video that was gritty, unpolished and uncomfortable."

Big Mess will mark Elfman's first non-soundtrack studio album since 1984, and includes contributions from drummer Josh Freese (Devo, Wheezer, The Vandals), bassist Stu Brooks (Dub Trio, Lady Gaga, Lauryn Hill), and guitarists Robin Finck (Nine Inch Nails, Guns N’ Roses) and Nili Brosh (Tony MacAlpine, Paul Gilbert).

Elfman began creating Big Mess in 2020 during the pandemic. He says, "Once I began writing, it was like opening a Pandora’s box and I found I couldn’t stop. None of it was planned. I had no idea how many songs I would write but from the start, it quickly became a two-sided project with heavily contrasting and even conflicting tones."

He adds, "I knew from the start that this wasn’t going to be a neat, easy-to-categorise record. It was always destined to be this crazy cacophony because that’s who I am. The Big Mess is me."


  1. Sorry
  2. True
  3. In Time
  4. Everybody Loves You
  5. Dance With The Lemurs
  6. Serious Ground
  7. Choose Your Side
  8. We Belong
  9. Happy
  10. Just A Human
  11. Devil Take Away
  12. Love In The Time Of Covid
  13. Native Intelligence
  14. Better Times
  15. Cruel Compensation
  16. Kick Me
  17. Get Over It
  18. Insects
"True" is out now. Danny Elfman's Big Mess album will land via ANTI-/Epitaph on 11 June, and is available to pre-order now.