"Trials" lands after last month's "Spit You Out", which will also feature on Cults' new album.

Cults say of their new single, ""Trials" focuses on the power that addictions and harmful ideologies have to transform. The chorus walks a tightrope between a metaphor for gaslighting and a despairing worry about the person you still hold out hope for."

Host will be Cults' fourth album, following on from 2017's Offering.

Their new LP is co-produced by Cults and Shane Stoneback, mixed by John Congleton, mastered by Heba Kadry, and features Loren Shane Humphrey, (Last Shadow Puppets, Florence and the Machine, Guards) on drums.

Cults' forthcoming album was created in a more collaborative process than their previous records. Singer and multi-instrumentalist Madeline Follin says, "In the past, I’d never brought my own music to the table because I was just too shy." The band's Brian Oblivion adds, "When Shane and I heard what Madeline had written, we couldn’t believe it. The music just floored us."


  1. Trials
  2. 8th Avenue
  3. Spit You Out
  4. A Low
  5. No Risk
  6. Working It Over
  7. A Purgatory
  8. Like I Do
  9. Masquerading
  10. Honest Love
  11. Shoulders To My Feet
  12. Monolithic
"Trials" is out now. Cults' Host album is due for release on 18 September via Sinderlyn, and is available to pre-order now.