Self Discovery For Social Survival is a new film collaboration between Mexican Summer and surf and outdoor brand Pilgrim Surf + Supply.

The movie is filmed in Mexico, the Maldives, and Iceland, and sees Allah Las, Connan Mockasin, Andrew VanWyngarden, travel alongside professional surfers Stephanie Gilmore, Creed McTaggart, Ryan Burch, and others.

Of the movie, director Chris Gentile says, "The idea was to send surfers and musicians off on these trips together. Get them out there amongst it—in the surf, in the afterglow of the surf, talking story at dinner, just all the great stuff that happens on a surf trip. Then, right after their trips, the musicians jump into the studio and compose based on their experiences. With their hair still wet, so to speak."

The first offering to be shared from the soundtrack is the woozy Mockasin and VanWyngarden collaboration, "Bad Boys".


  1. Dungen - Var Har Du Varit
  2. Allah Las - Mulberry Jam
  3. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma - Breeze
  4. Allah Las - Raspberry Jam
  5. Allah Las - Blueberry Jam
  6. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma - Swell
  7. Allah Las - Boysenberry Jam
  8. Allah Las - Blackberry Jam
  9. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden - Bad Boys
  10. Peaking Lights - Mirror In The Sky
  11. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden - Surf Or Not
  12. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden - Aurora Borawhatawhata
  13. Peaking Lights - Hold On
  14. Connan Mockasin & Andrew VanWyngarden - Mountain Pass
"Bad Boys" is out now. The Self Discovery For Social Survival soundtrack is out 14 June via Mexican Summer, and is available to pre-order now.