Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Bleachers 2021 carlotta kohl

Bleachers announce third album with anthemic lead cut "Stop Making This Hurt"

18 May 2021, 14:40 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Jack Antonoff's Bleachers are back with news of their long-awaited third album Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night, and have shared anthemic new single "Stop Making This Hurt" as the lead outing.

"Stop Making This Hurt" is the third track to be shared from their forthcoming album, following last November's comeback singles "Chinatown" (featuring Bruce Springsteen) and "45".

Antonoff says of the new single, ""Stop Making This Hurt" is what you get when we are not allowed to go play for our people. It’s a line that had been ringing in my head for years. I fell into a dark place after a loss and then starting to have that feeling of rage towards the depression - which is when you know there’s a way out. Started looking at the people close to me in my life and finding all the ways we keep ourselves from breaking through. "Stop Making This Hurt" started ringing more and more in my head. Then the pandemic hit and i got the band in a room and we played like we may never play again. At that point it took on another meaning. Found myself banging at the door of the next phase of my life and to open brings up all the darkness from the past and what’s holding you back. I could intellectualise it for days but what im truly left with is a voice in my head shouting "Stop Making This Hurt"."

Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night will follow Bleachers' 2017 Gone Now album.


  1. 91
  2. Chinatown (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
  3. How Dare You Want More
  4. Big Life
  5. Secret Life
  6. Stop Making This Hurt
  7. Don't Go Dark
  8. 45
  9. Strange Behavior
  10. What'd I Do with All This Faith?
"Stop Making This Hurt" is out now. Bleachers' Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night album will be released via RCA Records on 30 July, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next