Animal Collective are still standing strong, and are still finding innovative ways to indulge in new creativity within their music.

Today they reveal the first single, "Hair Cutter", from upcoming album Tangerine Reef, which is considered an audiovisual album.

The video for "Hair Cutter" is currently exclusively on Apple Music.

The idea came about after the group performed new tracks at their “Coral Orgy” set, which was inspired by the reefs and set to visuals by the media company Coral Morphologic.

Tangerine Reef will follow on from 2017's The Painters, as well as having revealed a track from their 1999 Campfire Songs sessions earlier this year.


  1. Hair Cutter
  2. Buffalo Tomato
  3. Inspector Gadget
  4. Buxom
  5. Coral Understanding
  6. Airpipe (To a New Transition)
  7. Jake and Me
  8. Coral by Numbers
  9. Hip Sponge
  10. Coral Realization
  11. Lundsten Coral
  12. Palythoa
  13. Best of Times (Worst of All)
Animal Collective's Tangrine Reef drops on 17 August via Domino. There will be a full-length film revealed on the band's website on the day of release.