Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Art School Girlfriend 2023 please credit Isaak Berglund

Art School Girlfriend announces second album with new single "Close To The Clouds"

13 March 2023, 12:26 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Art School Girlfriend has shared news of her upcoming second album Soft Landing, and has released new single "Close To The Clouds" to accompany the announcement.

"Close To The Clouds" is the second song to be lifted from Art School Girlfriend's new album, following January's "A Place To Lie".

Art School Girlfriend, real name Polly Mackey, says of the new outing, ""Close To The Clouds" is about looking back on my twenties with some kind of wistful hindsight. I wanted it to embody the energy of the music I spent a lot of my teenage years and early twenties listening to. It’s about reflecting on the winding path to contentment, having finally figured out how to find it."

Soft Landing will follow Mackey's 2021 debut album Is It Light Where You Are? The album was recorded between Mackey's home and Crouch End's Church Studios with friend and co-producer Riley MacIntyre. She says the album title "is taken from these ["Close To The Clouds"] lyrics, and this track represents a lot of the record’s themes: reflection, joy, coming of age."

Mackey adds, "It captures what a lot of people coming out of COVID have felt, looking for joy closer to home, in your immediate surroundings. I am much more interested in capturing a time and feeling, than getting it perfectly right."


  1. A Place To Lie

  2. Close To The Clouds

  3. Real Life

  4. Waves

  5. Blue Sky (feat. Tony Njoku)

  6. The Weeks

  7. Laugh My Head Off

  8. Out There

  9. Heaven Hanging Low

  10. How Do You Do It

  11. Too Bright

"Close To The Clouds" is out now. Art School Girlfriend's Soft Landing album will arrive via Fiction Records on 4 August, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next