Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Squid 2023 orange backdrop credit Studio UJ

Squid announce second album with lead single "Swing (In A Dream)"

08 February 2023, 18:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Squid have returned with news of their upcoming second album O Monolith, and have unveiled the lead single "Swing (In A Dream)".

"Swing (In A Dream)" follows the band's 2021 cover of Bill Callahan's "America!", and is the first taster of their forthcoming second album. The new track is teamed with a Yoonha Park-directed video.

Singer and drummer Ollie Judge says of the single, "This was inspired by a dream I had about a painting called The Swing by Jean-Honoré Fragonard. In my dream I was in the painting but it was flooded and everything was floating away."

O Monolith will follow Squid's 2021 debut album Bright Green Field, and was produced by longtime collaborator Dan Carey, and mixed by John McEntire of Tortoise. The band started working on their second album only two weeks after the release of their debut, while they were on tour.

Judge says, "Without that tour we wouldn’t have any of these tracks. People were so looking forward to seeing live music that we thought we could just play anything, even if it was unfinished. In some form or another we played about 80% of O Monolith, mostly without lyrics."


  1. Swing (In A Dream)

  2. Devil’s Den

  3. Siphon Song

  4. Undergrowth

  5. The Blades

  6. After The Flash

  7. Green Light

  8. If You Had Seen The Bull’s Swimming Attempts You Would Have Stayed Away

"Swing (In A Dream)" is out now. Squid's O Monolith album will arrive via Warp Records on 9 June, and is available to pre-order now. They'll play London's Troxy on 1 November. Tickets will go on sale next week via

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next