Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Shame outside fireworks shop lead singer cowboy hat foil mask

Shame announce third album with lead outing "Fingers of Steel"

15 November 2022, 17:02 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Shame have returned with news of their third album Food for Worms, and have unveiled the lead single "Fingers of Steel".

"Fingers of Steel" is accompanied by a James Humby-directed video, and marks the group's first new material since last year's "Baldur's Gate" track. Lead vocalist Charlie Steen says of the video, "Self-obsession, social media flagellation and death can all be seen in this Oscar nominated performance. No one’s ever done a video like this before and when you watch it, you’ll see why. Think Casablanca, but in colour, and better."

The single is the lead release from Shame's third album Food for Worms, which will follow 2021's Drunk Tank Pink, and is described by Steen as "the Lamborghini of Shame records." Shame recorded the album while playing festivals all over Europe, and is produced by Flood.


  1. Fingers of Steel
  2. Six-Pack
  3. Yankees
  4. Alibis
  5. Adderall
  6. Orchid
  7. The Fall Of Paul
  8. Burning By Design
  9. Different Person
  10. All The People

"Fingers of Steel" is out now. Shame's Food for Worms album will land via Dead Oceans on 24 February 2023, and is available to pre-order now. They'll play London's O2 Academy Brixton on 28 April 2023. Visit for a full list of dates.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next