Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

The Vaccines announce fifth album with title-track "Back In Love City"

25 June 2021, 12:02 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Vaccines are back with news of their highly-anticipated fifth album Back In Love City, and have released the title-track to accompany the announcement.

After returning last month with their "Headphones Baby" single, The Vaccines have announced Back In Love City, their follow-up to 2018's Combat Sports album.

On top of announcing their fifth album, The Vaccines have released the album title-track "Back In Love City".

Back In Love City was recorded at El Paso's Sonic Ranch with producer Daniel Ledinsky (Tove Lo, Zara Larson, TV on the Radio, Rihanna), and was finished in early 2020.

The new album, inspired by fictional cities including Ridley Scott’s version of LA from Blade Runner, came together after lead vocalist Justin Young took part in a house swap in LA. Young explains, "I literally swapped lives with a stranger. I lived in in house and drove his car while he lived in mine, but we’d never met and had no previous connections."

He adds, "In some obvious ways we’re more connected than ever, but we’re also more polarised than we’ve been for 100 years and the world is getting colder. What if there was a place where love and other emotions had run dry - but you could go to Love City to get them?"


  1. Back In Love City
  2. Alone Star
  3. Headphones Baby
  4. Wanderlust
  5. Paranormal Romance
  6. El Paso
  7. Jump Off The Top
  8. XCT
  9. Bandit
  10. Peoples Republic Of Desire
  11. Savage
  12. Heart Land
  13. Pink Water Pistols
"Back In Love City" is out now. The Vaccines' album of the same name will arrive 10 September, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next