Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The flaming lips american head

The Flaming Lips announce new album with lead cut "My Religion Is You"

26 June 2020, 11:59 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The Flaming Lips are back with details of their 16th studio album American Head, and have released the lead single "My Religion Is You".

"My Religion Is You" is the first new single from The Flaming Lips since last month's "Flowers of Neptune 6", which will also feature on their forthcoming LP.

American Head will follow on from last year's King's Mouth album. It's produced by longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann, and sees Kacey Musgraves contribute backing vocals to three tracks - "Flowers of Neptune 6", "Watching the Lightbugs Glow" and "God and the Policeman".

Vocalist Wayne Coyne says of the album in a statement, "So... for most of our musical life we’ve kind of thought of ourselves as coming from 'Earth'... not really caring WHERE we were actually from. So for the first time in our musical life we began to think of ourselves as 'AN AMERICAN BAND'… telling ourselves that it would be our identity for our next creative adventure. We had become a seven-piece ensemble and were beginning to feel more and more of a kinship with groups that have a lot of members in them. We started to think of classic American bands like The Grateful Dead and Parliament-Funkadelic and how maybe we could embrace this new vibe."

"The music and songs that make up the AMERICAN HEAD album are based in a feeling," Wayne Coyne continues. "A feeling that, I think, can only be expressed through music and songs. We were, while creating it, trying to NOT hear it as sounds... but to feel it. Mother’s sacrifice, Father’s intensity, Brother’s insanity, Sister’s rebellion...I can’t quite put it into words."

He adds, "Something switches and others (your brothers and sisters and mother and father...your pets) start to become more important to you…in the beginning there is only you... and your desires are all that you can care about...but... something switches.. I think all of these songs are about this little switch."


  1. Will You Return / When You Come Down
  2. Watching the Lightbugs Glow
  3. Flowers Of Neptune 6
  4. Dinosaurs On The Mountain
  5. At The Movies On Quaaludes
  6. Mother I've Taken LSD
  7. Brother Eye
  8. You n Me Sellin' Weed
  9. Mother Please Don't Be Sad
  10. When We Die When We're High
  11. Assassins of Youth
  12. God and the Policeman (Feat. Kacey Musgraves)
  13. My Religion Is You
"My Religion Is You" is out now. The Flaming Lips' American Head album is due for release on 11 September via Bella Union, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next