Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Temples 2019

Temples announce new album with title track "Hot Motion"

05 June 2019, 10:04 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Temples have announced their third album, alongside revealing the bright title track "Hot Motion".

Having teased new music last week, Temples have returned with fresh single "Hot Motion", as well as details of their upcoming third album of the same name.

The new single is about "the tensions of desire, dreams and nightmares", and is the first new track from Temples since their 2017 second record Volcano.

Speaking about their forthcoming album, bassist Thomas Walmsley says, "It felt like there was a darker edge to what we were coming up with and we wanted to make sure that carried through across the whole record. It’s not a ten-track, relentless rock record from start to finish, it’s got a lot of light and shade and more tender moments, but that heavier, darker sound for us is something we wanted to make sure was in there and explore further."

Walmsley adds, "We’ve gone from bedroom to living room to a dedicated space. We could all set up in the same room and allow things to play out a lot more like a band. That played a huge part in the sound of the record."


  1. Hot Motion
  2. You’re Either On Something
  3. Holy Horses
  4. The Howl
  5. Context
  6. The Beam
  7. Not Quite The Same
  8. Atomise
  9. It’s All Coming Out
  10. Step Down
  11. Monuments
"Hot Motion" is out now. Temples' Hot Motion album arrives 27 September via ATO Records. They play London's O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire on 8 December. Tickets go on sale Friday (7 June) at 10am.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next