"On the Floor" follows last month's "This Night" single with Owen Pallett and Tracyanne Campbell, and features backinng vocals from R.E.M.'s Mike Mills and piano from Franklin Bruno.

Mac McCaughan says of the new release, "The demo of "On the Floor" reminded me of something from the R.E.M. album Reckoning, so I wanted it to have piano - ably supplied by Franklin Bruno - and then luckily, we even got Mike Mills to add his distinctive voice in the harmonies."

Wild Loneliness will follow Superchunk's 2018 album What a Time to Be Alive, and will also include last year's "Endless Summer" single with Teenage Fanclub's Norman Blake and Raymond McGinley.

The album will also feature appearances from Sharon Van Etten, Wye Oak’s Andy Stack and Kelly Pratt.

"On the Floor" is out now. Superchunk's Wild Loneliness album will arrive via Merge Records on 25 February, and is available to pre-order now.