"Describe" is the first single from Perfume Genius, aka Mike Hadreas, since last year's "Pop Song".

Hadreas reveals "it started as a really somber ballad. It was very minimal and very slow. And then it turned into this beast of a song. I started writing about when you are in such a dark place that you don't even remember what goodness is or what anything feels like. And so, the idea was having someone describe that to you, because you forgot or can’t get to it."

The new offering arrives with a self-directed video which imagines "an end of the world where there are no boundaries, there are no edges, no rules, or the rules are completely new with how you interact with each other and the space around you."

Set My Heart On Fire Immediately will follow on from Perfume Genius' 2017 LP No Shape.

The new album was recorded in LA, and features contributions from Jim Keltner, Pino Palladino, Matt Chamberlin, and Rob Moose.

Hadreas says of the LP, "I wanted to feel more open, more free and spiritually wild, and I'm in a place now where those feelings are very close - but it can border on being unhinged. I wrote these songs as a way to be more patient, more considered - to pull at all these chaotic threads hovering around me and weave them in to something warm, thoughtful and comforting."


  1. Whole Life
  2. Describe
  3. Without You
  4. Jason
  5. Leave
  6. On the Floor
  7. Your Body Changes Everything
  8. Moonbend
  9. Just a Touch
  10. Nothing at All
  11. One More Try
  12. Some Dream
  13. Borrowed Light
"Describe" is out now. Perfume Genius' Set My Heart On Fire Immediately album lands 15 May via Matador, and is available to pre-order now. He tours North America later this year. Find out more.