Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Orla Gartland 2021 06 please credit Karina Barberis

Orla Gartland announces debut album with lead single "Do You Mind?"

09 June 2021, 12:25 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Dublin's Orla Gartland is back with news of her upcoming debut album Woman on the Internet, and has shared new song "Do You Mind?" to accompany the announcement.

The tender new song "Do You Mind?" is the fourth track to be shared from Woman on the Internet, following on from earlier singles "Zombie!", "More Like You" and "Pretending".

Woman on the Internet will be Gartland's first collection of tracks since last year's Freckle Season EP. She says of the announcement, "Announcing my debut album feels like a moment I've been waiting for for years. Something clicked into place last year - I grew into my role as a producer and lyrically I knew what I wanted to say. Although this album was made in 2020 it isn't laced with lockdown blues - it feels more like the soundtrack of new time to me; a sunnier time, a more hopeful time. I'm so proud of this record and beyond excited for everyone to hear it!"

"When I was a few songs into writing the album it became clear that Woman on the Internet is about the chaos of my 20s," Gartland says of the album. "It's a different chaos to your late teens, such a different brand of angst. I feel so much more settled and sure of myself now than I was when I was 18 or 19 but I'm still just half the person I'm going to be and to capture that became really important."

Gartland adds of the album title, "She’s a caricature; a nameless, faceless figure telling me to eat better or buy some specific hair product; when I feel low I'm so vulnerable to questionable advice. The woman appears in these songs as someone I look to for guidance when it feels like no one in my real life can help, when I'm truly lost. A lot of this album is about learning to really own that lostness."


  1. Things I’ve Learned
  2. You’re Not Special, Babe
  3. More Like You
  4. Over Your Head
  5. Zombie!
  6. Madison
  7. Do You Mind?
  8. Codependency
  9. Pretending
  10. Left Behind
  11. Bloodline/Difficult Things
"Do You Mind?" is out now. Orla Gartland's debut album Woman on the Internet will be released 20 August via her own New Friends label, and is available to pre-order now. She'll play London's Electric Ballroom on 15 October. Tickets go on general sale next Monday (14 June) at 10am BST.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next