The album comes just a year and a bit on from 2016's Away, and sees Will Sheff & Co. veer into vibrant, classic pop and pumped-up Americana. It's produced by Sheff with Shawn Everett (Perfume Genius, The War On Drugs) on mixing duties.

"I wanted to make a record where a sense of kindness felt encoded into the music," explains Sheff. "In places, the record deals with heavy things like trauma and betrayal and shame, but, actually, it’s supposed to be a good time. I hope it’s something fun, that makes people feel happier."

Okkervil River are set to head out on tour later this year, with a headline show at London's KOKO set for 10 October. Find out more.


  1. Famous Tracheotomies
  2. The Dream And The Light
  3. Love Somebody
  4. Family Song
  5. Pulled Up The Ribbon
  6. Don’t Move Back To LA
  7. Shelter Song
  8. How It Is
  9. External Actor
  10. Human Being Song
In The Rainbow Rain is out 27 April via ATO.