Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Charlie Coxedge

MONEY's Charlie Coxedge shares "Be" from upcoming solo record Cloisters

12 May 2017, 18:05 | Written by Laurence Day

Charlie Coxedge of MONEY has unveiled 10-minute composition "Be", a new piece from upcoming solo record Cloisters.

Cloisters is Coxedge's debut by himself, and was announced with the lead single/title track earlier this month.

"Be" is a world away from the noises MONEY make - it's an immersive set of soundscapes that roll and writhe in and out of each other, flowing slowly between phases and gradually building beauty.

"The origins of 'Be' came from the initial period where I was first playing around with making music by myself," explains Coxedge. "I was experimenting with layers, textures, different sounds and loops, and working out what was possible both physically for me in a live sense, and sonically from the instruments available at the time. Of course, the music wouldn't have lasted if it didn't also evoke some sort of emotional response, which is ultimately the most important aspect for me."


  1. Cloisters
  2. Dust
  3. Pentreath
  4. Corrour
  5. Be
  6. Holly
Cloisters is out 26 May via Bella Union.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next