Pulsating and hypnotic "I Shall Love 2" is the first taste of Holter's forthcoming release.

Aviary will arrive three years after Have You in My Wilderness, and is built around a 2009 short story by writer Etel Adnan.

Holter also released a live album In The Same Room last year.

Speaking of her forthcoming album, Holter explains, "Amidst all the internal and external babble we experience daily, it's hard to find one's foundation. I think this album is reflecting that feeling of cacophony and how one responds to it as a person - how one behaves, how one looks for love, for solace. Maybe it’s a matter of listening to and gathering the seeming madness, of forming something out of it and envisioning a future.”

Holter adds, "In a lot of the songs, when I mention love, it’s about a seeking for compassion and humility in a world where it feels like empathy is always being tested."

"I Shall Love 2" arrives with visuals directed by Dicky Bahto.

The forthcoming Aviary album was produced by Holter and Kenny Gilmore, and will feature 15 tracks.


  1. Turn The Light On
  2. Whether
  3. Chaitius
  4. Voce Simul
  5. Everyday Is An Emergency
  6. Another Dream
  7. I Shall Love 2
  8. Underneath The Moon
  9. Colligere
  10. In Gardens’ Muteness
  11. I Would Rather See
  12. Les Jeux To You
  13. Words I Heard
  14. I Shall Love 1
  15. Why Sad Song
"I Shall Love 2" is available now. Julia Holter's sixth album Aviary will be released via Domino on 26 October.