Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The National Basilica Hudson 7 14 17 Julia Drummond 2 21

Have The National revealed the tracklist to their new album?

05 March 2019, 10:24 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

The National have shared a new image on socials revealing a list of words that could be the tracklist for their new album.

The National's new album, yet to be announced, will follow on from 2017's Sleep Well Beast.

Sharing a new image to Twitter, the snap shows frontman Matt Berninger and Aaron Dessner reflecting on a board of words - one half in black ink, and the other in white.

It's unsure if their next record will be a double album, or whether one side of writing is the final list of track names, as there's one duplicate and 24 seperate groupings of words, which is a lot.

Here's what the board says:

  1. Broken Chorus
  2. Johnstone (?)
  3. Hester Everything
  4. Pickering
  5. Easy To Lose
  6. Caldwell
  7. Cleaney
  8. Oblivions
  9. Rylan
  10. Washington
  11. Hague Pink
  12. Long Pond
  13. Not In Kansas
  14. We Moved To California
  15. Rosey
  16. Roman Holiday
  17. You Had Your Soul With U
  18. Quiet Light
  19. Faer
  20. Rylan
  21. I Am Easy To Find
  22. The Pull Of You
  23. So Far So ..(?)
  24. Light Years.

Berninger and Dessner feature on season one of new podcast Coffee & Flowers, which explores The National's Boxer record in more detail.

Hopefully it won't be long until The National confirm news of their new album. They've just announced a handful of intimate shows, including one at London's Royal Festival Hall on 18 April. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next