Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Prince purple rain apr17

Hear "Electric Intercourse", a stunning unreleased track from Prince's Purple Rain sessions

28 April 2017, 11:03 | Written by Laurence Day

Prince's landmark release Purple Rain is getting a deluxe reissue this year, and you can hear previously unreleased track "Electric Intercourse" now.

The 'new' track was recorded in 1983 and has only been heard live or via bootlegs - Prince's vault is being cracked open properly and this is one of the first peeks inside. This studio version of "Electric Intercourse" wasn't even known to exist prior to being discovered in the vault.

The 2xCD deluxe edition of Purple Rain features the official Paisley Park remaster from 2015 - a press release says it presents "an unheard vision of the album overseen by Prince himself."

A disc titled From The Vault & Previously Unreleased is stuffed with 11 tracks from the same time as Purple Rain, including rarities such as "Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden", the full copy of instrumental track "Father’s Song", the 10-minute "We Can Fuck", a mastered "Katrina's Paper Dolls", a solo "Possessed", and much more. All the music has been mastered by Bernie Grundman, who worked on the original Purple Rain.

As well as the original LP and vault material, an expanded edition features another disc of B-sides and single edits, plus a concert DVD.

Check the mammoth tracklist below.

Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)

  1. Let’s Go Crazy
  2. Take Me With U
  3. The Beautiful Ones
  4. Computer Blue
  5. Darling Nikki
  6. When Doves Cry
  7. I Would Die 4 U
  8. Baby I’m A Star
  9. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased

  1. The Dance Electric
  2. Love And Sex
  3. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
  4. Electric Intercourse (Studio)
  5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
  6. Possessed (1983 version)
  7. Wonderful Ass
  8. Velvet Kitty Cat
  9. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
  10. We Can Fuck
  11. Father’s Song

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides

  1. When Doves Cry (edit)
  2. 17 Days
  3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
  4. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
  5. Erotic City
  6. Erotic City ("Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
  7. Purple Rain (edit)
  8. God
  9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
  10. Another Lonely Christmas
  11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
  12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
  13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
  14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
  15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985

  1. Let’s Go Crazy
  2. Delirious
  3. 1999
  4. Little Red Corvette
  5. Take Me With U
  6. Do Me, Baby
  7. Irresistible Bitch
  8. Possessed
  9. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
  11. International Lover
  12. God
  13. Computer Blue
  14. Darling Nikki
  15. The Beautiful Ones
  16. When Doves Cry
  17. I Would Die 4 U
  18. Baby I’m A Star
  19. Purple Rain
The new versions of Purple Rain are getting released via NPG/Warner on 23 June.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next