Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Disq 1 Photo credit Jacob Boll

Disq announce new album with first single "Cujo Kiddies"

20 July 2022, 15:53 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Wisconsin's Disq are back with news of their second album Desperately Imagining Someplace Quiet, and have released "Cujo Kiddies" as the first outing,

"Cujo Kiddies" is the first new release from Disq since they covered Jeff Tweedy's "I Know What It’s Like" in June 2020, and is also the first taster of the band's forthcoming second album.

Vocalist and bassist Raina Bock says of the track, "I wanted to make a song that sounded like a freight train full of clowns and silly toys, barreling through the dark, observing and taking note of the various gloomy landscapes of my brain (without dwelling too long or taking any of it too seriously)."

"I wrote the first half of "Cujo" from deep inside the hole of substance abuse and loneliness," Bock continues. "The song was meant to function as a blueprint for how I wished my reality could look. Six months later, sitting in an ocean of boxes all packed up for what would be my fourth time moving that year, I wrote the second half."

"The experience inspired what I hope to be my lifelong approach to songwriting going forward… To write songs not with the goal of reflecting on where I am at a given moment, but as a tool to pull myself out of the way things are and toward the way I’d like them to be."

Bock adds, "I wrote "Cujo Kiddies" for nobody else’s ears but my own, so while it is now making its way out into a strange world where I am not the only living person on earth, I truly from the bottom of my heart hope you all enjoy— but if you don’t, rest easy in knowing that it is no skin off the author’s back either way. This song has already done everything I could have ever hoped it would."

Desperately Imagining Someplace Quiet will follow the group's 2020 debut Collector, and is produced by Matt Schuessler.


  1. Civilization Four
  2. Prize Contest Life
  3. Cujo Kiddies
  4. This Time
  5. The Curtain
  6. The Hardest Part
  7. If Only
  8. Charley Chimp
  9. Tightrope
  10. (With Respect To) Loyal Serfs
  11. Meant To Be
  12. Hitting A Nail With A BB Gun
"Cujo Kiddies" is out now. Disq's Desperately Imagining Someplace Quiet album will land via Saddle Creek on 7 October, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next