Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Deerhoof jun17

Deerhoof have released their new record nearly two weeks early

28 August 2017, 16:44 | Written by Laurence Day

Indie veterans Deerhoof have released new LP Mountain Moves almost two weeks early on Bandcamp, and confirmed that all of the proceeds will go to charity.

Money made from the album will be donated to the Emergent Fund, which supports "grassroots organizations in communities of color who are facing injustice based on racial, ethnic, religious, and other forms of discrimination."

Twitchy art-punk veterans Deerhoof were all set to release their new album Mountain Movesnext week, but they’ve made an unexpected move instead. The album, it turns out, is out right now on Bandcamp, and the band are donating 100% of its proceeds to the Emergent Fund, a grassroots nonprofit that provides resources to communities of color who are facing discrimination in the Trump era.

Deerhoof are following up last year's The Magic with a 15-strong collection that includes covers of Bob Marley, Violeta Parra, and The Staple Singers tracks. The group have brought in Stereolab's Lætitia Sadier, Xenia Rubinos, Juana Molina, Wye Oak's Jenn Wasner, and Awkwafina to contribute.

Deerhoof play End Of The Road festival, which begins this week, with dates in London and Ramsgate shortly afterwards. Find out more.


  1. Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina)
  2. Con Sordino
  3. I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner)
  4. Come Down Here and Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier)
  5. Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra cover)
  6. Begin Countdown
  7. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)
  8. Ay That's Me
  9. Palace of the Governors
  10. Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos)
  11. Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts)
  12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers)
  13. Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
  14. Kokoye
  15. Small Axe (Bob Marley)
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next