After signing a new record deal with Transgressive Records last week, Damon Albarn has announced details of his second solo album The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows.

Albarn has shared the title-track from the album to accompany the news.

He originally planned to tour the project, which is inspired by the landscapes of Iceland, in May 2020 with an ensemble of orchestra instrumentation, electronics, vocals, and piano, but then the pandemic hit and he had to postpone the live dates. Albarn did perform some of the pieces in May last year as part of Boiler Room's Streaming from Isolation series, but it's now getting an official release.

The title for his new album, which will follow 2014's Everyday Robots, was inspired by John Clare's poem Love and Memory.

Albarn says, "I have been on my own dark journey while making this record and it led me to believe that a pure source might still exist."


  1. The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows
  2. The Cormorant
  3. Royal Morning Blue
  4. Combustion
  5. Daft Wader
  6. Darkness To Light
  7. Esja
  8. The Tower Of Montevideo
  9. Giraffe Trumpet Sea
  10. Polaris
  11. Particles
"The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows" is out now. Damon Albarn's album of the same name will be released via Transgressive Records on 12 November, and is available to pre-order now.