Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Braids 2020 ariana molly

Braids announce first album in five years with wonky synth-pop jam "Young Buck"

30 January 2020, 14:42 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Braids have returned with details of their first album in five years, Shadow Offering, alongside unveiling the lead single "Young Buck".

"Young Buck" is Braids' first new offering since last year's "Eclipse (Ashley)", which will also be included on their new record.

Vocalist Raphaelle Standell-Preston says of the new single, "We wrote this song to capture the nervous anticipation of desire, the delicate chase of seduction, the highs and lows of obsession, and the humour in between. To want to possess someone, make them desire you, fall for you, only to learn that to lust is not to love."

Shadow Offering is produced by Death Cab For Cutie's Chris Walla, and will be the group's first album since 2015's Deep In The Iris.

Standell-Preston says of their new record, "There's more hopefulness in this record than anything else I've written. I think the songs are more human, more tangible, more honest."


  1. Here 4 U
  2. Young Buck
  3. Eclipse (Ashley)
  4. Just Let Me
  5. Upheaval ii
  6. Fear Of Men
  7. Snow Angel
  8. Ocean
  9. Note To Self
"Young Buck" is out now. Braids' Shadow Offering album lands 24 April via Secret City Records, and is available to pre-order now. They play London's Moth Club on 24 April. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next