Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Blonde Redhead by Julien Bourgeois

Blonde Redhead to release new EP next month, share first track "3 O'Clock"

16 February 2017, 10:00 | Written by Laurence Day

Blonde Redhead return with the swooning beauty of "3 O'Clock", the first single from a brand new EP due out next month.

The four tracks on the EP are shaped by the Blonde Redhead's 2016 tour showcasing revamped material from 2004 classic Misery Is A Butterfly - bolstered by live strings, the songs took on new meanings and were enhanced in surprising ways. This new EP runs on that theme, meshing Blonde Redhead's distinct pop bent with orchestral tones.

The band's Kazu Makino says of the new single: "At three in the afternoon, a lot of things happen, how many times we schedule appointments at that time? In Japan, then, it is a holy hour, it’s 'tea time’. Obviously you might even think about the three in the morning, but I wrote the song starting from this suggestion, thinking about what is a significant time to me on a daily basis, a kind of turning point, metaphorically the beginning of a new chapter for Blonde Redhead."

3 O'Clock follows last year's Masculin Féminin collection and their 2014 LP Barragán.

The short-player was recorded in New York State and produced by the band. Eyvind Kang contributes woodwind and string arrangements, which are performed by The American Contemporary Music Ensemble: ACME.

Blonde Redhead have a big European tour planned for the coming weeks, including a date at London's Islington Assembly Hall later this month. Find out more.


  1. 3 O’Clock
  2. Golden Light
  3. Where Your Mind Wants To Go
  4. Give Give
The 3 O'Clock EP is due out 3 March via Asa Wa Kuru/Ponderosa Music & Art.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next