Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Battles announce long-awaited fourth album with lead single "Titanium 2 Step"

07 August 2019, 15:09 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Battles, now a duo, have announced their highly-anticipated fourth album Juice B Crypts, alongside unveiling the vibrant lead single "Titanium 2 Step".

Experimental rock group Battles, now made up of Ian Williams (keys, guitar, electronics) and John Stanier (drums), have shared their first new song in four years.

"Titanium 2 Step" is a sensory overload, and features vocals from Liquid Liquid's Sal Principato.

Stainer says of the new single, "We loved making this record in our hometown of New York and cannot be more pleased that Sal from Liquid Liquid is on the track, it could not have been more perfect."

Battles' new album Juice B Crypts will be their first since 2015's La Di Da Di, and is produced and mixed by Chris Tabron (Trash Talk, Beyonce, Mobb Deep, Ratking).

Speaking about their fourth record, Williams explains, "It’s about chord progressions, resolutions, returning home. Take that and throw it into a blender of modern electronic tools like glitching devices, or use melodic lines and take them and regurgitate them and pulverise the traditional stuff but at the same time try and retain harmonic relationships while completely smashing them up."


  1. Ambulance
  2. A Loop So Nice...
  3. They Played It Twice (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
  4. Sugar Foot (feat. Jon Anderson and Prairie WWWW)
  5. Fort Greene Park
  6. Titanium 2 Step (feat. Sal Principato)
  7. Hiro 3
  8. IZM (feat. Shabazz Palaces)
  9. Juice B Crypts
  10. The Last Supper On Shasta (feat. tUnE-yArDs)
"Titanium 2 Step" is out now. Battles' Juice B Crypts record will land on 18 October via Warp. They play London's EartH on 25 October. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next