Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Adrianne lenker Genesis Baez

Adrianne Lenker announces two new albums with lead track "anything"

02 September 2020, 15:01 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Big Thief's Adrianne Lenker has announced not just one, but two new albums - songs and instrumentals - as well as sharing the lead single from songs, "anything".

"anything" is the first new solo track from Lenker since she released her abysskiss LP in 2018.

Both of Lenker's forthcoming albums were written and recorded in April at a cabin in the mountains of western Massachusetts after Big Thief's tour got cut short due to the coronavirus pandemic. Lenker says, "I grew really connected to the space itself. The one room cabin felt like the inside of an acoustic guitar - it was such a joy to hear the notes reverberate in the space."

The two LP's were recorded with help from engineer Philip Weinrobe. The duo started and ended each day by playing an improvised acoustic guitar instrumental, leading them to create a collage which became the first side of the instrumentals album. Weinrobe says, "We wanted to make a record that put you, the listener, in the most intimate position possible."

Lenker adds, "I had a handful of songs that I was planning on recording, but by the time Phil arrived I was on a whole new level of heartsick and the songs were flying through my ears. I was basically lying in the dirt half the time. We went with the flow. A lot of the focus was on getting nourishment from our meals. We cooked directly on the woodstove, and we went on walks to the creek every day to bathe. I’m grateful that this music has come into existence. These songs have helped me heal. I hope that at least in some small way this music can be a friend to you."

No digital process was used to create the songs, as Weinrobe explains, "Not only does this process allow for a very specific type of sonic experience to come alive, but the process also dictates how we work. The fine-toothed editing and micro adjustments that every modern record relies on are not available. The computer screen is not glowing while the music is being recorded. The entire workflow becomes a part of the music in a way that is simply not possible when working in digital audio. AAA (analog-analog-analog) is a very labor and resource intensive process and it has a wide array of limitations compared to digital record making, but there is no other way we could have achieved both the capture and delivery of this music without it."

songs Tracklist:

  1. two reverse
  2. ingydar
  3. anything
  4. forwards beckon rebound
  5. heavy focus
  6. half return
  7. come
  8. zombie girl
  9. not a lot, just forever
  10. dragon eyes
  11. my angel

instrumentals Tracklist:

  1. music for indigo
  2. mostly chimes
"anything" is out now. Adrianne Lenker's songs and instrumentals albums will be released 23 October, and are available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next