Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Death Valley Girls sitting in blue studio

Death Valley Girls announce new album with lead single "What Are The Odds"

14 November 2022, 14:20 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Death Valley Girls are back with news of their forthcoming album Islands in the Sky, and have released new single "What Are The Odds" to accompany the announcement.

"What Are The Odds" is the first official outing from Death Valley Girls' new album, although they did release another track called "When I'm Free" on a double single with Le Butcherettes' "The Universe" in January, and is teamed with a Samantha Westervelt-directed video.

Bandleader Bonnie Bloomgarden says, "When we wrote "I’m a Man Too" we were trying to revisit No Doubt’s "I’m Just a Girl" but through a new lens. "What Are the Odds" is in the same way an investigation/revisitation of Madonna’s "Material Girl" but with a DVG spin. We love to think about consciousness, and existence, and we very much believe in some type of reincarnation, but also that this experience isn’t linear, there isn’t a past and future, there’s something else going on! What is it? Is it a simulation, are we simulated girls??!"

Islands In The Sky will follow Death Valley Girls' 2020 album Under the Spell of Joy, and was inspired by Bloomgarden's mysterious illness that left her bed-ridden from November 2020 to March 2021, "When I was sick I had to sleep most of the day," Bloomgarden says. "I kept waking up every few hours with an intense message to take care of the island, feed the island…I have no idea why, but making music for the island kept coming up."

"When I was sick I started to wonder if it would be possible to write a record with messages of love to my future self," Bloomgarden continues. "This was really the first time that I consciously thought about my own suffering and what future me might need to hear to heal. I struggled so much in my life with mental health, abuse, PTSD, and feeling like I didn’t belong anywhere. And I don’t want anyone - including my future self - to suffer ever again. I realised that if we are all part of one cosmic consciousness, as we [Death Valley Girls] believe, then Islands in the Sky could serve not only as a message of love and acceptance to myself, but also from every self to every self, because we are all one!"


  1. California Mountain Shake
  2. Magic Powers
  3. Islands In The Sky
  4. Sunday
  5. What Are The Odds
  6. Journey to Dog Star
  7. Say It Too
  8. Watch The Sky
  9. When I'm Free
  10. All That Is Not of Me
  11. It's All Really Kind Of Amazing

"What Are The Odds" is out now. Death Valley Girls' Islands in the Sky album will be released via Suicde Squeeze Records on 24 February 2023, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next