Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Xiu Xiu monochrome Cody Cloud

Xiu Xiu announce new album with lead cut "Maybae Baeby"

12 January 2023, 15:34 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Xiu Xiu have announced their forthcoming album Ignore Grief, and have unveiled the lead outing "Maybae Baeby".

"Maybae Baeby" is Xiu Xiu's first outing since remixing A Place To Bury Strangers' "Love Reaches Out" in November last year, and arrives with a video made by Xiu Xiu's Angela Seo.

Ignore Grief will follow Xiu Xiu's 2021 album OH NO, and Angela Seo's debut solo album Strands. Seo and Jamie Stewart are also joined by new member and old friend David Kendrick (Sparks, Devo, Gleaming Spires) for the new album. The record is split into halves, one half featuring Seo on lead vocals, and the other led by Stewart. Half of the album is described as "experimental industrial", while the other half is made up of "experimental modern classical" music.


  1. The Real Chaos Cha Cha Cha
  2. 666 Photos of Nothing
  3. Esquerita, Little Richard
  4. Maybae Baeby
  5. Tarsier, Tarsier, Tarsier, Tarsier
  6. Pahrump
  7. Border Factory
  8. Dracula Parrot, Moon Moth
  9. Brothel Creeper
  10. For M

"Maybae Baeby" is out now. Xiu Xiu's Ignore Grief album will arrive on 3 March via Polyvinyl, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next