Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The Arcs bandshot 2022

The Arcs announce first album in eight years with lead cut "Keep On Dreamin'"

13 October 2022, 15:52 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Dan Auerbach’s The Arcs have announced their first album in eight years Electrophonic Chronic, and have shared the lead single "Keep On Dreamin'".

"Keep On Dreamin'" is the first taster of The Arcs' second album, and first outing since their bandmate Richard Swift died in 2018. The new track is accompanied by a Roboshobo-directed video.

Electrophonic Chronic will follow the band's 2015 debut Yours, Dreamily, and features the original line-up (including the late Swift). It was recorded between Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashvile and New York's Electric Lady Studios and Leon Michels' Diamond Mine.

Auerbach says, "Whether it was New York City or Nashville or LA or Swift’s hometown of Cottage Grove, Oregon, wherever we were, we would always get in the studio together. Always. It was our favourite thing to do. It’s rare that you meet a group of people that you click with like that, who you instantly bond with. We were just having fun, making sounds, making music. It was an amazing time for me."

Michels adds, "There are probably between 80 and 100 tracks that we laid down, because we just constantly recorded after we put out Yours, Dreamily. It was so much fun to be in the studio once again, so we were just making music all the time. I think there was always a plan to make a follow-up record."

On Swift's passing, Auerbach says, "This new record is all about honouring Swift. It’s a way for us to say goodbye to him, by revisiting him playing and laughing, singing. It was heavy at times, but I think it was really helpful to do it."


  1. Keep On Dreamin’
  2. Eyez
  3. Heaven Is A Place
  4. Califone Interlude
  5. River
  6. Sunshine
  7. A Man Will Do Wrong
  8. Behind The Eyes
  9. Backstage Mess
  10. Sporting Girls Interlude
  11. Love Doesn’t Live Here Anymore
  12. Only One For Me

"Keep On Dreamin'" is out now. The Arcs' Electrophonic Chronic album will land via Dan Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound on 27 January 2023, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next