Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Roisin murphy hit parade 2023

Róisín Murphy announces her forthcoming album, Hit Parade

18 May 2023, 10:57 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Alongside the announcement, Róisín Murphy shares new single, "The Universe".

Speaking of the new single, Murphy says: “The universe at large is playful and terrifying. There is no discernible sense to it. The story that is always being told is on multiple levels, levels we don't see or understand. The experience of being alive is to be continually reminded of how utterly unaware we are of what is really going on all around us."

"The Universe" follows on from "CooCool", which was the first taste of the forthcoming album, which is said to be world's apart from 2020’s Róisín Machine.

"This record is a collaboration with DJ Koze. We worked remotely, in different countries sending tracks/ideas back and forth for several years. I always have to approach a new collaboration with openness and a willingness to learn and never more so than with this," says Murphy on Hit Parade.

The studio in this case was imaginary, in the airspace between Hamburg and London. That meant we were both in a personal, private place when working on the songs. For me that brought out a more intimate approach to the songwriting, I told this album my secrets. For Koze it meant total freedom and absolute focus without the distraction of my presence. He took a deep dive into himself and I believe that’s why the music is so vibrant and alive. It is just exploding with colour!," Murphy says.

"It’s a joyful record, I’ve never been happier, that is partly down to personal reasons but also in my work I’ve been very fulfilled. For me the record is about love and sensuality but also it’s about music itself and how it’s always been there for me. There are tinges of darkness, of the abyss, as well as all the joy. There’s contemplation of mortality which is meant to serve as reminder to me (and perhaps you the listener) to really live while we can.”


  1. What Not To Do
  2. CooCool
  3. The Universe
  4. Hurtz So Bad
  5. The House
  6. Spacetime
  7. Fader
  8. Free Will
  9. You Knew
  10. Can’t Replicate
  11. Crazy Ants Reprise
  12. Two Ways
  13. Eureka

"The Universe" is out now. Róisín Murphy's forthcoming album, Hit Parade, arrives on 8 September via Ninja Tune, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next