Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
You tell me 2018

You Tell Me announce debut album with radiant new track "Invisible Ink"

17 October 2018, 15:02 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

You Tell Me, made up of Field Music’s Peter Brewis and Sarah Hayes, announce their self-titled debut record with a bright new single "Invisible Ink".

Back in August Peter Brewis and Sarah Hayes, both from Field Music, revealed their new project You Tell Me with baroque folk track "Clarion Call".

Today the duo have announced their forthcoming debut record, which arrives with new track "Invisible Ink". Hayes explains the new track deals with "expectations and people’s individual ways of navigating these”.

The pair's forthcoming debut release was recorded in Brewis' Sunderland studio that has provided an incubator for the majority of Field Music's albums.

For Hayes, delving into songwriting is somewhat new territory for her. She explains, “I've always loved words but had never thought I could be a lyricist."

Brewis describes the record as "a sort of dual-personal record," and explains their lyrical direction in more detail, "most of the songs seemed to either be about conversations, be conversational or about talking or not talking.”

He adds, “Although I think we were both going through some big, difficult changes personally, we tried to have fun making it too. There was probably a time when making the record was a bit of an escape from other matters. We were able to just please ourselves with what we did and how we did it.”


  1. Enough To Notice
  2. Get Out Of The Room
  3. Foreign Parts
  4. Water Cooler
  5. Springburn
  6. No Hurry
  7. Clarion Call
  8. Jouska
  9. Invisible Ink
  10. Starting Point
  11. Kabuki
"Invisible Ink" is out now. You Tell Me is released 11 January via Memphis Industries. The record is available to pre-order on a limited edition signed white vinyl.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next