Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Joyero dogs video

Wye Oak's Andy Stack announces debut album as Joyero with lead single "Dogs"

25 June 2019, 15:41 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Andy Stack of Wye Oak has announced his debut album Release The Dogs as Joyero, alongside revealing the lead single "Dogs".

Stack delivered his debut track "Salt Mine" as Joyero back in March, and has today unveiled a second single, "Dogs".

Speaking about his new single and self-directed visual, Stack says, "I filmed this in the back of Wye Oak’s tour van in Durham, NC, as summer temperatures crept toward triple digits, so these dogs had no problem showing me their panting, slobbery tongues and beautiful white teeth. It’s a song about longing and control, love and danger, cages we are placed into and cages in which we choose to stay. I felt at home in this box, close cuddling with dogs and hens and tarantulas, delusional from the heat and happy to stay a little longer than was probably advisable."

His forthcoming album Release The Dogs was largely recorded in Marfa, Texas.


  1. Alight
  2. Dogs
  3. Starts
  4. Steepest Stairs
  5. Salt Mine
  6. Man
  7. Small Town Death
  8. After You
  9. Time
"Dogs" is out now. Release The Dogs drops 23 August via Merge, and is available to pre-order now. Joyero plays London's Union Chapel on 4 October with The Album Leaf. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next