"Where Do You Go When You Dream?" is the first new single from Woods since their 2018 collaborative EP with Dungen.

Speaking to The FADER about the new offering, Woods' Jeremy Earl explains, "This was the first song we started working on for the album and the first song we wrote from piano. I had a primitive demo version that was me playing the drums with the verse chord progression and a different vocal melody. I played Jarvis the demo while he was over my house working on some Purple Mountains mixes. Late one night we started jamming on it and Jarvis came up with the chorus chords."

Earl adds, "We wanted to make a record that was heavy on the keys and was less dependent on guitars. This was the beginning of that experiment. In many ways this song is the mission statement of the album. Both in vibe and lyrical content. A gateway into dream and an escape from everyday reality."

Strange To Explain will be the group's first LP since 2017's Love Is Love.

Discussing the new album, Jarvis Taveniere of the band says, "I had a few goals, mostly in terms of the sound of the record. I wanted it to sound a little more open, the last two have more of a claustrophobic energy. Maybe New York City had something to do with that and maybe that's the reason we both moved out of the city."

Taveniere adds, "The studio we worked in and lived at when we made the record is on a beach in Northern California, and it's basically a beautiful old house converted into a professional recording studio. It meant we could approach it more like the earlier records, where we would turn Jeremy's upstate NY house into a recording studio with whatever minimal gear we could afford. You're definitely able to indulge some less concrete impulses when you're living at the studio, with no outside obligations pulling you out of that creative mental space."


  1. Next to You and the Sea
  2. Where Do You Go When You Dream?
  3. Before They Pass By
  4. Can’t Get Out
  5. Strange to Explain
  6. The Void
  7. Just to Fall Asleep
  8. Fell So Hard
  9. Light of Day
  10. Be There Still
  11. Weekend Wind
"Where Do You Go When You Dream?" is out now. Woods' Strange To Explain album is released 22 May via Woodsist, and is available to pre-order now.