Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Whyte Horses Credit Jason Evans

Whyte Horses announce new record with John Grant collaboration "Hard Times"

16 October 2019, 11:37 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Whyte Horses have announced their third LP Hard Times, as well as unveiling the title-track as the lead single, which features John Grant.

"Hard Times" arrives after their cover of 1970's track "Ça Plane Pour Moi" in August.

The new offering features vocals from John Grant, marking his first feature since his 2018 album Love Is Magic.

Grant says of the new collaboration, "Loved working with Whyte Horses on this. Spam and Oreos are right up my alley."

Hard Times will follow on from Whyte Horses' 2018 album Empty Words, and is decribed by creator and curator Dom Thomas as a "fantasy mixtape".

They recorded the album in an isolated studio on the Isle of Wight. Thomas says of the group's recording process, "We don’t go into the studio until the very last moment. We all do the demo stuff at home because that’s the way we like to work: everything is pretty much arranged in my head and then I go into the studio and we intensively get them down in quite a short amount of time. Once in the studio, that’s where things come to life."


  1. Red Lady
  2. Mister Natural (Feat. La Roux)
  3. Hard Times (Feat. John Grant)
  4. Ça Plane Pour Moi
  5. Bang Bang (Feat. Chrysta Bell)
  6. Seabird
  7. Satellite Of Love (Feat. Badly Drawn Boy)
  8. I Saw The Light (Feat. Mèlanie Pain)
  9. Up In My Mind (Feat. Tracyanne Campbell)
  10. Tocyn (Feat. Gruff Rhys)
  11. Want You To Know
"Hard Times" is out now. Whyte Horses' Hard Times album drops 17 January 2020 via CRC Records, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next