Whirlybird is a 2020 documentary directed by Matt Yoka that tells the story of Zoey Tur and Marika Gerrard, former partners and founders of the Los Angeles News Service, who revolutionised breaking news by reporting from a helicopter.

"Story of the Century" is the first release from the documentary soundtrack, which was created by Ty Segall - marking his first feature-film score - in collaboration with Yoka.

For the documentary soundtrack, Ty Segall used a synth, drum machine, Wurlitzer keyboard, guitars, drums and percussion, and Mikal Cronin, who co-wrote the title-track, played saxophone.


  1. Whirlybird
  2. First Date
  3. Los Angeles News Service
  4. Getting the Story
  5. Sky Duo
  6. Lawrence Welk III
  7. First Pursuit
  8. 1992
  9. High
  10. News Junkies
  11. Story of the Century
  12. Whirly Suite
  13. Last Flight
"Story of the Century" is out now. Ty Segall's Whirlybird soundtrack will arrive via Drag City on 22 February.