Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
James Mercer the shins

The Shins detail new record Heartworms, share new single "Name For You"

05 January 2017, 15:38 | Written by Laurence Day

The Shins have finally announced that new album of theirs - it's called Heartworms, and you can hear its opener "Name For You" now.

This proper announcement comes after last year's "Dead Alive" single and its related teasers, and will be the celebrated band's first new album since 2012's Port Of Morrow.

It's hardly been a secret that James Mercer & Co. were preparing a new LP, especially after they debuted new music at last year's End Of The Road Festival.

Heartworms is written solely by Mercer, and is the first self-produced (except "So Now What", prod. Richard Swift) since 2001's Oh, Inverted World.

New single "Name For You" is described as "a resounding call for female empowerment inspired by Mercer’s three daughters."

As well as the song and album news, The Shins are set to embark on a world tour. Mercer will be joined by Yuuki Matthews (bass), Jon Sortland (drums), Mark Watrous (guitar, keys, vocals), Casey Foubert (guitar) and Patti King (keys) for upcoming live dates, which you can find out more about here.

“I’m really excited about this record," Mercer said in an interview last year. "We had a good time making it. It was a lot of hard work, but I think we’ve got something that Shins fans will really love and I think there’s some other things on there that are just different enough. I made a concerted effort on certain songs to fit the palate, or to use the palate that I’ve used historically for the band. And then on other songs, I really jumped off because I was having so much fun just leaning some new tools that I had at my disposal like arpeggiators and things."


  1. Name For You
  2. Painting A Hole
  3. Cherry Hearts
  4. Fantasy Island
  5. Mildenhall
  6. Rubber Ballz
  7. Half A Million
  8. Dead Alive
  9. Heartworms
  10. So Now What
  11. The Fear
Heartworms is out 10 March via Columbia. Pre-order now via iTunes.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next