Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
The national may17

A day in the life of The National has been condensed into just a few minutes for their new music vid

29 August 2017, 08:52 | Written by Laurence Day

The National have shared "Day I Die", an affecting new single from their forthcoming album, and its perfectly paired video by Casey Reas.

"Carin At The Liquor Store", "Guilty Party", and "The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness" have already been shared by the group as they gear up to release long-awaited new album Sleep Well Beast.

The accompanying visuals by Reas follow The National as they prepare to play a show in France.

"Graham MacIndoe captured eighteen time-lapse photo series during rehearsals at Le Centquatre in June 2017 in Paris," says Reas. "Hours of rehearsal are compressed into a few minutes. Over five thousand of these photographs were brought together to make the final video. I wrote custom software to collage multiple photographs together and to compile them into videos. A flickering colour layer abstracted from broadcast television signals augments the black and white footage. The images here are played back at 12fps, near the threshold of the persistence of vision."

The record is the group's seventh in total and their first since 2013's exceptional Trouble Will Find Me. It's produced by Aaron Dessner with co-production by brother Bryce Dessner and Matt Berninger.

The National have been away a fair while, with all the members pursuing other projects - Matt Berninger's EL VY, Bryce Dessner's orchestral work, Invisible Bridge, plus Scott and Bryan Devendorf's LNZNDRF expedition to name just a few. The National as a unit have also dropped a few morsels into the ether, such as the mammoth A Lot Of Sorrow and Sharon Van Etten collab "Sunshine On My Back"; they also contributed to last year's Grateful Deadtribute and this year's titanic Bob's Burgers release

Back in 2014 the band's Scott Devendorf told us a bit about their plans for their seventh LP: "There's been chatter about working like we did on [third album] Alligator... [but] we have no desire to repeat and do anything again. It's for our own interest partly, and we also want to develop as musicians, people and a band."

The National are set to play a mammoth world tour, with shows across Europe, the UK, and North America scheduled for this autumn/winter - including four nights at London's Hammersmith Apollo. Get the full details.


  1. Nobody Else Will Be There
  2. Day I Die
  3. Walk It Back
  4. The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness
  5. Born to Beg
  6. Turtleneck
  7. Empire Line
  8. I’ll Still Destroy You
  9. Guilty Party
  10. Carin At The Liquor Store
  11. Dark Side of the Gym
  12. Sleep Well Beast
Sleep Well Beast is out 8 September via 4AD. You can pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next