Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

The Jesus and Mary Chain announce new album Damage and Joy

08 December 2016, 11:41 | Written by Laurence Day

The Jesus and Mary Chain are set to return with their first record in 18 years - Damage and Joy - next spring.

Plans for the legendary band's first new LP since 1998's Munki were revealed last month by Creation Records founder Alan McGee.

The first single from Damage and Joy is called "Amputation" - you can hear it above.

“We started to - can you believe? - listen to each other a bit more,” says the band's Jim Reid. “In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other. Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”

“The interesting thing about this record is what comes out of the speakers,” adds Reid. “To make a good record is an achievement if you’re twenty-two, but to do it in your fifties, the way we are, I think is a minor miracle.”

The LP is produced by Youth (The Sugarcubes, Dido) and will feature contributions from touring drummer Brian Young and ex-Lush bassist Phil King.


  1. Amputation
  2. War On Peace
  3. All Things Pass
  4. Always Sad
  5. Song For A Secret
  6. The Two Of Us
  7. Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)
  8. Mood Rider
  9. Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)
  10. Get On Home
  11. Facing Up To The Facts
  12. Simian Split
  13. Black And Blues
  14. Can’t Stop The Rock
Damage and Joy is set for release 24 March via ADA/Warner.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next