The list is rich with solo pop names, with only two bands - Pale Waves and Superorganism - on the list of 16.

BBC Music Sound Of 2018 Longlist:

  • ALMA
  • Billie Eilish
  • Jade Bird
  • Khalid
  • Lewis Capaldi
  • Nilüfer Yanya
  • Not3s
  • Pale Waves
  • Rex Orange County
  • Sam Fender
  • Sigrid
  • Superorganism
  • Tom Walker
  • yaeji
  • Yxng Bane

To be eligible, artists must not have been a lead artist on a Top 10 track or album in the UK (it was Top 20 in previous years), and can't already be widely known - i.e. they can't be from reality TV and starting a career in music. Nominees are voted for by a range of figures from the music industry.

The Sound Of 2017 winner was Ray BLK.

Find out more about The BBC Sound Of 2018.