Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Texas 2021 pc julian broad

Texas announce first album in four years with opening track "Mr Haze"

06 April 2021, 10:26 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Texas have announced their first new album in four years Hi, and have unveiled the opening track "Mr Haze" to accompany the news.

"Mr Haze" is the opening song from Texas' forthcoming album, and follows last year's Wu-Tang Clan collaboration "Hi".

Hi will follow Texas' 2017 album Jump on Board, and includes a collaboration with Clare Grogan of Altered Images, as well as a track written with Richard Hawley.

The idea for the new album started back in 2018 when lead vocalist Sharleen Spiteri and bass guitarist Johnny McElhone found forgotten outtakes from their White on Blonde sessions, and after listening to them the group were inspired to write new material.

Spiteri says, "Our excitement at finding this treasure trove of songs collided with our excitement back then and, unplanned, new songs started coming. You could say we were inspired by ourselves!

Texas' new album features three songs written during the pandemic, between Scotland, Wales, LA and Sweden.


  1. Mr Haze
  2. Hi (with Wu-Tang Clan)
  3. Just Want To Be Liked
  4. Unbelievable
  5. Moonstar
  6. Dark Fire
  7. Look What You’ve Done
  8. Heaven Knows
  9. You Can Call Me
  10. Sound of My Voice
  11. Falling
  12. Hi (Single Mix)
  13. Had A Hard Day (Deluxe edition)
  14. Had to Leave (Deluxe edition)
"Mr Haze" is out no. Texas' Hi album will be released 28 May via BMG, and is available to pre-order now. The band are due to play London's Palladium on 16 March 2022. Tickets are on sale now from
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next