Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
SWC Patti V3e

Soundwalk Collective and Patti Smith share "The New Revelations Of Being" from new album

04 March 2019, 16:11 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Soundwalk Collective have announced a new album with Patti Smith, alongside sharing lead single "The New Revelations Of Being".

The new album The Peyote Dance takes its name from Antonin Artaud’s book, and is announced the same date as the author's death to mark the anniversary.

The Peyote Dance is the first of three albums to be released over the next year that is inspired by writings from French poets Antonin Artaud, Arthur Rimbaud and René Daumal.

A press release states, "Recorded in the Sierra Tarahumara of Mexico, Abyssinian valley of Ethiopia, and Himalayan Summit of India respectively, the central idea is that each landscape holds sleeping memories that are the witness of human passage. Each album retraces the poets’ footsteps, channelled through on-location recorded soundscapes and musicalities."

Speaking about The Peyote Dance, Smith says, "The poets enter the bloodstream, they enter the cells. For a moment, one is Artaud...You can’t ask for it, you can’t buy it, you can’t take drugs for it to be authentic. It just has to happen, you have to be chosen as well as choose."

She adds, "We understand that this work and the artist are not dead, they find life in recording them."

Patti Smith and The Soundwalk Collective first worked together on 2016's Killer Road.

Back in 2017, Smith bought the reconstructed home of Arthur Rimbaud.


  1. Una Nota Sobre El Peyote
  2. Indian Culture
  3. Tutuguri: The Rite Of The Black Sun
  4. Tutuguri: The Rite Of Black Night
  5. The New Revelations Of Being
  6. Alienation and Black Magic
  7. Ivry
  8. Basalówala Aminá Ralámuli Paísila
"The New Revelations Of Being" is out now. The Peyote Dance lands 31 May via Bella Union.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next