The track links up with "Hey Sister" and "Caught In A Wave" to preview the LP, which is a collaboration with London ensemble Deep Throat Choir, and also finishes off the group's "video triptych... with artists Kiana Del Valle, Rashid Kazim, and Carri Munden."

"For 'Defender' I was particularly moved by the voices of the Deep Throat Choir and how they merged with the production and composition of SMD," explains director/choreographer Del Valle. "The words and melodies of the choir really conduct the imagery for this video. Our female character survives and overcomes obstacles in both previous chapters; by overcoming personal battles she achieves growth. In Chapter Three she is greeted by a group of female warriors that to me are singing her own story as if she could both see herself in the warriors and the warriors see themselves in her..."

Murmurations, Simian Mobile Disco's fifth studio full-length, comes not long after their ADSR Expansion: B-Sides & Rarities and Anthology: 10 Years of SMD collections, and follows their 2016 LP Welcome To Sideways.

Simian Mobile Disco are set to an album launch at London's Pickle Factory on 25 May. Find out more.


  1. Boids
  2. Caught In A Wave
  3. We Go
  4. Gliders
  5. Hey Sister
  6. A Perfect Swarm
  7. Defender
  8. V Formation
  9. Murmuration
Murmurations is out 11 May via Wichita.