Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Shamir apr17 hope

Shamir surprise releases new "hard to listen to" free record Hope

17 April 2017, 12:03 | Written by Laurence Day

Shamir has today released a new album called Hope recorded alone over the weekend.

The record is the follow up to 2015 debut Ratchet, and is written/produced/performed/mixed entirely by the Las Vegas native (mastering is by Kieran Ferris). Shamir was signed with XL but is now sans label.

"I was gonna quit music this weekend," Shamir says in a statement accompanying the release. "From day one it was clear I was an accidental pop star. I loved the idea of it, I mean who doesn't? Still the wear of staying polished with how I'm presented and how my music was presented took a huge toll on me mentally. I started to hate music, the thing I loved the most!

"When I would listen to immaculate recordings with my friends, their praise over the quality of the art as opposed to the art itself made me feel really sad for music as a medium in general," Shamir continues. "My music only feels exciting for me if it's in the moment, and that's what this album is. I made this album this past weekend stuck in my room with just a four-track feeling hopeless about my love for music. I'm not gonna lie, this album is hard to listen to, but it was even harder for me to share. I love pop music, I love outsider music, and I love lo-fi music, this is my way of combining all three. Anyway I played, wrote, produced, and mixed everything and big thanks to Kieran Ferris for mastering an album with an hour's notice! It's free! Enjoy! Love y'all! Still more 2 come!!!!!!!"


  1. Hope
  2. What Else
  3. Ignore Everything
  4. Tom Kelly
  5. Easier
  6. Like A Bird
  7. One More Time Won't Kill You
  8. I Fucking Hate You
  9. Rain (Blake Babies Cover)
  10. Bleed It Out
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next