Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Olafur Arnalds credit Anna Maggy

Ólafur Arnalds announces new album with lead single "We Contain Multitudes"

26 August 2020, 10:04 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Icelandic multi-instrumentalist Ólafur Arnalds has announced his new album some kind of peace, as well as unveiling the lead single "We Contain Multitudes".

"We Contain Multitudes" is the second track to be shared from some kind of peace, after Arnalds shared his JFDR collaboration "Back To The Sky" earlier this month.

The new song is accompanied by a performance video filmed at Arnalds' home in Reykjavík. He writes of the track, ""We Contain Multitudes" was written at a friend's cabin, late at night, on a tiny electric keyboard. At the time I had spent so much time away from what I had considered home, almost setting up a separate life on the other side of the planet. My mind was going through a process of learning to live in two vastly different cultures, of recognising that within one body there are multitudes of different and often contradictory facets of personality."

some kind of peace will be Arnalds' first LP since 2018's Re:member. The new album will feature collaborations with Bonobo and Josin.

The new album was partly written before the coronavirus lockdown, and later completed at Arnalds' harbour studio in downtown Reykjavík.

Arnalds says of the LP, "It's so personal that I'm still trying to find the words to talk about it. I felt it was important that the album would tell my story in a very honest way."


  1. Loom (feat. Bonobo)
  2. Woven Song
  3. Spiral
  4. Still / Sound
  5. Back To The Sky (feat. JFDR)
  6. Zero
  7. New Grass
  8. The Bottom Line (feat. Josin)
  9. We Contain Multitudes
  10. Undone
"We Contain Multitudes" is out now. Ólafur Arnalds' some kind of peace album will arrive 6 November, and is available to pre-order now.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next