Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross shared the new albums via their website and YouTube channel earlier today (26 March). The new LP's are the first new Nine Inch Nails albums since 2018's Bad Witch.

NIN's site also includes a note from Reznor and Ross, which reads, "As the news seems to turn ever more grim by the hour, we've found ourselves vacillating wildly between feeling like there may be hope at times to utter despair - often changing minute to minute. Although each of us define outselves as anticosial-types who prefer being on our own, this situation has really made us appreciate the power and need for connection."

They add, "Music - whether listening to it, thinking about it or creating it - has always been the thing that helped us get through anything - good or bad. With that in mind, we decided to burn the midnight oil and complete these new Ghosts records as a means of staying somewhat sane. Ghosts V: Together is for when things seem like it might all be okay, and Ghosts VI: Locusts...well, you'll figure it out."

On why they're releasing the new LP's, Ross and Reznor write, "It made us feel better to make these and it feels good to share them. Music has always had a way of making us feel a little less alone in the world...and hopefully it does for you, too. Remember, everyone is in this thing together and this too shall pass."

Both albums are due to arrive on streaming platforms tonight (26 March), but for now they're available as a free download via their site or as individual videos on YouTube.

Visit to download Ghosts V: Together and Ghosts VI: Locusts.