Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Nick Murphy (fka Chet Faker) announces new album with vibrant lead single "Sanity"

05 March 2019, 09:59 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Nick Murphy, once known as Chet Faker, returns with news of his second album, Run Fast Sleep Naked, announced alongside bright new single "Sanity".

"Sanity" is the first single from Murphy since 2017's "Medication" and Missing Link EP, and arrives with visuals directed by BabyBaby, shot in the Canary Islands.

Run Fast Sleep Naked is Murphy's first full-length since 2014's Built On Glass, released under his Chet Faker moniker.

The instrumentals of the album were largely recorded at Brooklyn's Figure 8 studio, while Murphy's vocal components were recorded in Tokyo, his Grandmother's living room, New York, and a rented holiday home in New Zealand he shares with his family. The record sees Murphy enlist the help of 15 musicians and a full orchestra.

Expanding on the album, Murphy says, "It’s almost like I was finding different shapes and colours from around the world, and then bringing them back and putting them all together. If you sit in one space for a long period of time, you get settled and stop experiencing the world in a new way. There’s a kind of power in leaping into the void without set structures and systems in place."


  1. Hear It Now
  2. Harry Takes Drugs On The Weekend
  3. Sanity
  4. Sunlight
  5. Some People
  6. Yeah I Care
  7. Novocaine and Coca Cola
  8. Never No
  9. Dangerous
  10. Believe (Me)
  11. Message You At Midnight
"Sanity" is out now. Run Fast Sleep Naked lands 26 April via Downtown / Future Classic / Opulent. Nick Murphy plays a handful of shows in Australia. Find out more.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next