Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Mourn apr18

MOURN announce new record Sorpresa Familia and air lead single "Barcelona City Tour"

03 April 2018, 13:43 | Written by Laurence Day

Barcelona post-punks MOURN have unveiled "Barcelona City Tour", the first single from upcoming LP Sorpresa Familia.

The jagged new track comes with a self-directed and self-edited video, which sees the Catalan crew journeying around their home city.

"We like to understand records as personal diaries," MOURN explain in a statement. "Everything you live builds you as a person, so we think it builds your art as well. We use songs as a way to express ourselves and to organize our ideas and thoughts. We use them to understand our own feelings and to grow emotionally. This album sums up everything we’ve lived during the past two years, it wasn’t easy to open up, but we did it anyway without fear. Every frustration, disappointment, delusion, anger... we got everything out, we liberated ourselves and now we’re ready for everything that comes up."

"The lyrics are very literal; they are our raw experiences - without makeup," they continue. "We show our most animal side, reduced to our most intense and visceral emotions. Of all we’ve lived, we keep the experiences, what was learned, all the mistakes and successes. Now we know life is sorpresa (surprise), but above all it is familia (family)."

The album is the group's third in total, following 2016's Ha, Ha, He. and their 2015 self-titled debut. Last year saw MOURN release a five-track EP titled Over The Wall.


  1. Barcelona City Tour
  2. Skeleton
  3. Strange Ones
  4. Fun At The Geysers
  5. Candleman
  6. Thank You For Coming Over
  7. Doing It Right
  8. Orange
  9. Bye, Imbecile
  10. Divorce
  11. Epilogue
  12. Sun
Sorpresa Familia is released 15 June via Captured Tracks.
Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next