Boyd and Digga D both have three nominations each, while Greentea Peng, Floating Points, Flying Lotus and Hania Rani have two each.

The late Tony Allen has also been announced as the winner of the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award, which he will accept posthumously after he died in April aged 79.

This year's ceremony will be hosted virtually in August due to the coronavirus pandemic. Arlo Parks is the first performer to be announced for the ceremony.

The public will be able to vote for the Best Live Act Award. The 2020 shortlist features 53 artists, including AJ Tracey, Arlo Parks, Bombay Bicycle Club, Editors, Fat White Family, Floating Points, JARV IS..., King Krule, Porridge Radio, Squid, and many more.

AIM CEO Paul Pacifico says of this year's event, "As the ceremony evolves into a virtual event, it’s wonderful to see that this year’s list of nominees is also firmly on the cultural cutting edge. This is an eclectic and talented group of artists that truly represents the breadth, depth and diversity of independent music which these awards exist to celebrate. With our new virtual format opening the door to an exciting range of possibilities, we can’t wait to reveal what we have in store for August, and see where this year takes us."

Visit for the full list of nominees. The virtual ceremony will take place on 12 August.