Ahead of Christmas next week, Barack Obama has shared his favourite songs of 2021 list, and hopes people will "find a new artist or song to add to your own playlist."

In 2021, Obama enjoyed Mitski's "The Only Heartbreaker", "Gold Chains" by Genesis Owusu, Lil Nas X's "Montero (Call Me By Your Name)", Little Simz's Cleo Sol collaboration "Woman", "Rumors" by Lizzo and Cardi B, Parquet Courts' "Walking At A Downtown Pace", "Write A List Of Things To Look Forward To" by Courtney Barnett, and more tracks by Mdou Moctar, Adia Victoria, Wye Oak, Yebba, Isaiah Rashad and more.

Wye Oak also made Barack Obama's 2021 summer playlist, which featured songs by J. Cole, Michael Kiwanuka, Jazmine Sullivan, Silk Sonic and more.